Climate Change photo identifier

2008 Climate Action Team (CAT)

Implementation Working Group (IWG)
Energy Efficiency and Green Building

The goal of the Energy Efficiency and Green Buildings IWG is to identify actions that can result in significant emission reductions in Washington’s built environment, both directly through reduced use of fossil fuel based energy as well as indirectly by reducing the use of greenhouse gas-intensive products. Given the long-lived nature of the built environment, building and community design decisions will also have a profound impact on Washington’s ability to meet its longer-term emission reduction goals. The group has organized its efforts around five 2009 actions, which will be further investigated and refined into implementable proposals:

  • Energy Efficiency Incentives:
    • Energy Efficiency Quality Investment Program (EEQUIP)
    • CHP and Distributed Energy Development
  • Energy Efficiency in Existing, New and Renovated Public Buildings
  • 2009 State Energy Code Improvements and Continuous Energy Efficiency Improvement Program for Buildings

Final Recommendations

Meetings and Agendas
(all documents are in PDF format)

October 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm - Teleconference
Meeting Summary

October 6, 9:00am - 11:00 am - Teleconference
Meeting Summary

September 22, 1:00pm - 3:00 pm - Teleconference
Meeting Summary

September 3, 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Teleconference
Meeting Summary

August 14, 10:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. In-person meeting
Meeting Summary

August 1, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Teleconference
Meeting Summary

July 9, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Teleconference
Meeting Summary

June 23, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Teleconference
Meeting Summary

June 3, 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Meeting Summary

Additional Documents



  • Ash Awad, McKinstry
  • Tony Usibelli, Washington State Department of Community, Trade and Economic Development

Team Members

  • James Ableson, Microsoft
  • Aaron Adelstein, King & Snohomish Master Builders Association
  • Eddie Bugg, Alcoa: Kawneer Company
  • Anthony Chavez, Weyerhaeuser
  • Doug Daley, Harbor Properties
  • Carrie Dolwick, NW Energy Coalition
  • Tom Eckmann, Greenwood Technologies
  • Amanda Eichel, Seattle Office of Sustainability and Environment
  • Jake Fey, City of Tacoma
  • Mark Frankel, New Buildings Institute
  • Bert Gregory, Mithun Architects
  • Ann Grodnick, Seattle-Northwest Securities
  • Rachel Jamison, Department of Ecology
  • Becky Kelley, Washington Environmental Council
  • Patrick Mazza, Climate Solutions
  • Patrick Neville, Apollo Alliance
  • Stan Price, NW Energy Efficiency Council
  • Cal Shirley, Puget Sound Energy
  • Stu Simpson, General Administration
  • John Stoll, Chelan PUD
  • David Van Holde, King County
  • Mary Verner, City of Spokane
  • Wayne Williams, Telect & Chair of Greater Spokane Inc
  • Yancy Wright, Sellen