Nuclear Waste Program

Welcome to the NWIC Home Page

NWIC was created in 1981, and consists of the member states: Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. The NWIC was ratified by Congress in 1985. The eighth state, Wyoming, joined the Compact in March of 1992. The Compact is a cooperative effort of the party states to protect their citizens, and maintain and enhance economic viability, while sharing the responsibilities of low-level radioactive waste management.

For more information on NWIC see the following:

E-mail to our Web manager with questions or comments about this web site.