Program Template photo identifier

Air Quality Program

Agricultural Burning Task Force

A black and white graphic of someone looking into a microscope.

The Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force (Agricultural Task Force) is established by the Washington State Clean Air Act. The goal is to work toward reducing air pollution from agricultural burning. The Agricultural Task Force, which is chaired by Ecology, represents many different interests. The representatives include Eastern Washington local clean air agencies, the agricultural community, the Washington State Department of Agriculture, local universities or colleges, public health, and the conservation districts.

This group develops Best Management Practices (BMP's) to reduce air emissions from agricultural activities, determine the level of permit fees, identify research.

Ecology began the process for revising the Agricultural Burning fees (Chapter 173-430 WAC) through rule making by publishing the Preproposal Statement of Inquiry (CR-101) in the State Register on May 5, 2010. You can find more information here.

Sign up here to be on the Agricultural Burning Task Force email list.
By signing up for the email list, you will receive a few emails a year from Ecology, including meeting announcements, meeting summaries, research updates, and links to other important topics related to the Agricultural Burning  Task Force.

BMP Page Link

Task Force Members

Representative Organization Seat
Karen Wood WA State Dept. of Ecology chair
Julie Oliver Spokane Regional Clean Air Agency local clean air agency
Mike Buckley Alfalfa Seed Growers agricultural community
Jay Penner WA Assn. of Wheat Growers agricultural community
Dan McCarthy Okanogan Horticultural Association agricultural community
Bill Johnston WSU Crop & Soil Science universities or colleges
Michael Bush WSU Cooperative Extension universities or colleges
Don Potts WA State Dept. of Agriculture agriculture agency
Troy Henderson Whitman County Public Health public health
Larry Cochran WA State Conservation Dist. conservation district


Since 1998, the Agricultural Burning and Research Task Force has selected a number of proposals and has awarded them grant money to further research into viable alternatives to field burning.  Research is funded by fees collected from agricultural burn permits. Proposals, final reports, and the findings can be viewed by selecting on the research link below.

Agricultural Burning Task Force Meeting Schedule - 2017

  • Wednesday, February 1, 2017
    Wednesday, June 7, 2017
    Wednesday, November 1, 2017
  • 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Department of Ecology's Eastern Regional Office
    4601 North Monroe Street

    Contact: Paul Rossow - (509) 329-3574

Other information