Program Template photo identifier

Air Quality Program

Ecology Home Heating Burn Bans

Sign up for email updates about all home heating burn bans.

Ecology calls burn bans only in counties where there is no local clean air agency. These counties are: Adams, Asotin, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, San Juan, Stevens, Walla Walla, and Whitman Counties.

For burn ban information in all Washington counties, go to and click on the county of interest.

Current burn ban status in Ecology's jurisdiction:


Stage 2 (red) Burn Bans (NO burning) in:

Stage 1 (yellow) Burn Bans (NO use of uncertified wood stoves or fireplaces, outdoor burning, and forest burning) in:

Note: Burn bans do not apply to homes with no other source of heat.

More information:

Contact Us

Operating your wood stove

Types of burn bans

Temperature inversions