Agricultural Burning Rule Update
Chapter 173-430 WAC
Public Hearing: September 2, 2010
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o= Overview of Agricultural Burning
ECOLOGY

State of Washington

Agricultural burning is setting fire to
crop lands.

Some examples include:

»Fruit trees

» Cereal grains (i.e Wheat, Corn)
»Non-cereal grains (i.e. Alfalfa)

» Christmas trees

»Conservation Reserve Program land

All agricultural burning requires a
permit with few exemptions (listed in
the rule).




oo Goals of Rule Update

DEPARTMENT OF
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e Establish fees that cover more of the costs
of the permit programs,

*Proposed fee schedule increases costs
recovery from ~25% to ~67%
*Address the finding of a court case,

*Change the pile burning fee to a per ton
fee rather than a per acre fee,

Make minor (housekeeping) changes.



o= Rule Development Process
ECOLOGY

State of Washington

® Agricultural Burning Practices and Research
Task Force Committee meetings

— March 30 - Discussion of Rulemaking Process
— April 15 - Subcommittee Meeting

— May 4 - Determined Fees

— June 17 - Reviewed Draft Rule Text

® Public Hearings

— August 26 — Dayton
— September 2 - Wenatchee

® Tentative Adoption Date: November 10, 2010



o= Statutory Basis for Rule Update

ECOLOGY

State of Washington

Chapter 70 Laws 2010 (Substitute Senate BiIll
6556) :

« establishes a per ton fee for pile burning

* provides new fee caps
*Old cap $2.50/ acre
*New caps: $3.75/acre, $1.00/ton

e allows ongoing fee adjustments within the new
caps.

Chapter 70.94.6528 RCW

e directs the Agricultural Burning Practices and
Research Task Force to set fees at a level that
covers program costs.



T Summary of Changes
ECOLOGY

State of Washington

® Added three sections:

— Description of the fees
— Process to adjust fees

— Field or Turf Grass(format change only)

® Minor changes for consistency

— Claritied refund language
— Added definitions for field, pile, and spot burn

® Removed language about length of crop
rotation cycle

— Language was outside of Ecology’s authority

— Ted Rasmussen Farms, LLC v. State of Washington, Department of Ecology, Docket #
22989-1-1IT (Rasmussen v. Ecology)



Fee

Field Burning

Spot Burning

Pile Burning

Minimum Fee

$30 for the first 10
acres

$30 for 10 acres or
less

$80 for the first 100
tons

Variable Fee

$3.00 for each
additional acre

None

$0.50 for each
additional ton




B\ More Information
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® Agricultural Burning:

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/pr

ograms/air/aginto/agricult

ural homepage.htm

® Air Quality Rule
Making:
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/

programs/air/rules/rules
laws.html



http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agricultural_homepage.htm�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/rules/rules_laws.html�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/rules/rules_laws.html�
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/rules/rules_laws.html�

DDD S Submit Comments To:
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Richelle Perez

Department of Ecology Air Quality Program
P.O. Box 47600

Olympia, WA 98504-7600

Fax: 360-407-7534
Phone: 360-407-7528

e-mail: Richelle.Perez@ecy.wa.gov

Written comments due by: September 9, 2010
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