BEACH Program

Lakes and Rivers Local Government Contacts

Adams County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Adams County Health District
Environmental Health
Brent Stenson, Director
509-488-2031
brents@co.adams.wa.us
 

Asotin County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

No Regional Contact. (Concerned about a particular beach? Please let the BEACH program know)

Snake River

The Army Corps of Engineers may check fecal coliform levels at the Snake River.

Benton County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Benton-Franklin Health District
Environmental Health Division
Rick Dawson
509-460-4313
rickd@bfhd.wa.gov

OR

Benton-Franklin Health District Laboratory
Dave Miller
509-460-4206
davem@bfhd.wa.gov

The Health District does some testing for E. Coli in the Snake River during the summer months.

Chelan County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Chelan-Douglas Health District

Environmental Health Division

Marc Marquis, Director

509-886-6483

marc.marquis@cdhd.wa.gov


Clallam County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom contact:

Clallam County Environmental Health Services

223 East 4th Street, Suite 14

Port Angeles, WA  98362-3015

 

Andy Brastad

360-417-2415

abrastad@co.clallam.wa.us

 

OR

 

Belinda M. Pero

360-417-2334

bpero@co.clallam.wa.us


Clark County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

Clark County Public Health
Marty McGinn
360-397-8428 ext. 7275
marty.mcginn@clark.wa.gov

Clark County Public Health monitors E.coli and blue-green algae of select lakes, rivers, and other recreational beaches.  The public beaches webpage is here, any beach closures will be posted online.

Columbia County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Columbia County Health Department

Environmental Health Division

509-382-2181

 

Cowlitz County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

Cowlitz County Health Department

Antonio G. Trejo, Environmental Health Specialist

360-414-5577

trejoa@co.cowlitz.wa.us

 

OR

 

Cowlitz County Health Department

Audrey Shaver

360-414-5592

shaver@co.cowlitz.wa.us

Douglas County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Chelan-Douglas Health District

Environmental Health Division

Marc Marquis, Director

509-886-6483

marc.marquis@cdhd.wa.gov

Ferry County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Northeast Tri-County Health District

Environmental Health Division

Jim Matsuyama, Director

509-684-2262

jmatsuyama@netchd.org
 

Franklin County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Benton-Franklin Health District

Environmental Health Division

Rick Dawson

509-460-4313

rickd@bfhd.wa.gov

 

OR

 

Benton-Franklin Health District Laboratory

Dave Miller

509-460-4206

davem@bfhd.wa.gov

 

The Health District does some testing for E. Coli in the Snake River during the summer months.

Garfield County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Garfield County Health District

Environmental Health Division

Kevin Turemen, Director

509-524-2653

kturemen@co.garfield.wa.us

OR

Garfield County Health District

Leta Travis, Administrator

360-843-3412

ltravis@co.garfield.wa.us
 

Grant County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Grant County Health District

Environmental Health

Jerry Campbell, Director

509-754-6060

jcampbell@granthealth.org

Grays Harbor County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Grays Harbor County Department of Public Services

Environmental Health Division

Eric B. Khambatta, Environmental Health Specialist

360-249-4413

ekhambatta@co.grays-harbor.wa.us

 

OR

 

Grays Harbor County Public Health Department

Environmental Health Division

Jeff Nelson, Director

360-249-4413

jnelson@co.grays-harbor.wa.us

 

Environmental Health Blog: http://ghcenvhealth.blogspot.com/.  The county tests select lakes during the summer.  Lake Sylvia and Wynoochee lake swimming areas are sampled by other entities but the above contact is aware of the monitoring results.

Island County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Island County Public Health Department

Kathleen Parvin R.S., Environmental Health Specialist

360-678-7914

kathleenp@co.island.wa.us

Jefferson County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Jefferson County Public Health Department

Environmental Health Division, Water Quality

Greg Thomason, Environmental Health Specialist

360-344-9303

gthomason@co.jefferson.wa.us

 

Jefferson County Public Health samples for toxic blue-green algae during the summer season at select recreational lakes.  Learn more at their Lake Water Quality webpage.

King County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

King County Water & Land Resources Division
Dean Wilson, Senior Water Quality Planner
206-296-8252
dean-wpcd.wilson@kingcounty.gov

King County monitors swimming beaches weekly from mid-May through mid-September for fecal coliform bacteria.  Results of this monitoring are posted weekly at: http://green.kingcounty.gov/swimbeach/.  When bacteria counts exceed criteria, Seattle-King County Public Health Department will close the beach.

King County monitors the same beaches for cyanotoxins (microcystin and anatoxin-a) mid-May through the end of October. In the event of a toxic algae bloom, results would be posted on the Swimming Beach web page and the Toxic Algae web page: http://green.kingcounty.gov/lakes/ToxicAlgae.aspx.  They would work with the Seattle-King County Public Health Department to post/close a lake if state recreational guidelines for cyanotoxins are exceeded.  Information about the water quality monitoring program in general can be found at:  http://green.kingcounty.gov/lakes/

King County operates 38 combined sewage overflows (CSOs).  A real-time map of the sites is available: http://www.kingcounty.gov/environment/wastewater/CSO/RealTime/SeattleOverview.aspx

King County is also part of the tri-county REHAB program funded by the CDC. This program includes monitoring cyanotoxins in 10 lakes in each of three counties - King, Snohomish, and Pierce counties.   King County does not yet have a web page for this project.  Contacts for this project are Beth Cullen 206-263-6242, and Sally Abella 206-296-8382.

City of Kent

 

Public Works Department

Matt Knox, Environmental Ecologist

253-856-5551

mknox@ci.kent.wa.us

The City of Kent monitors Lake Meridian swimming beaches for fecal coliform bacteria during the primary swimming season (July/Aug/Sep).  They also monitor algae species for 10 months out of the year at Lake Meridian and Lake Fenwick. Visit the City of Kent website.

Kitsap County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Kitsap County Health District
Water Protection Program
Jim Zimny, R.S., Senior Environmental Health Specialist
360-337-5285
zimnyj@health.co.kitsap.wa.us

Kitsap County Health District posts swimming beach advisories and lake closures online here.

Kittitas County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Kittitas County Public Health Department

Cathy Bambrick, Administrator

cathy.bambrick@co.kittitas.wa.us

Klickitat County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Klickitat County Health Department

Environmental Health Division

Kevin Barry, Director

509-773-4565

kevinb@klickitatcounty.wa.us

 

OR

 

Klickitat County Health Department Lab

Jeff Martin

509-493-6211

jeffm@co.kclickitat.wa.us
 

Lewis County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Lewis County Water Program

Environmental Health Laboratory

Meredith Jones, Environmental Health Specialist

360-740-1231

mljones@co.lewis.wa.us

 

Lewis County may monitor select swimming beaches, see their website for updates.
 

Lincoln County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Lincoln County Health Department

Environmental Health

Ed Dzedzy, Director

edzedzy@co.lincoln.wa.us

 

There is currently no regular monitoring in Lincoln County.  Please see the above contact or the Lincoln County Health Department website for more information about health risks.
 

Mason County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Mason County Public Health

Environmental Health

Water Quality Program

Stephanie Kenny, Environmental Health Specialist

360-427-9670  Ext 581

cns@co.mason.wa.us

Okanogan County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Okanogan County Health District

Environmental Health

Dave Hilton, Director

509-422-7144

dhilton@co.okanogan.wa.us

There is currently no regular monitoring of lakes or rivers.  Please see the Okanogan County Health District website for updates.

Pacific County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Pacific County Department of Community Development

Faith Taylor-Eldred

360-875-9304

ftaylor@co.pacific.wa.us

There is currently no regular monitoring of lakes or rivers.  Members of the public can bring in a water sample to have analyzed for fecal coliform through their certified lab at a cost of $25.

Pend Oreille County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Northeast Tri-County Health District

Environmental Health Division

Jim Matsuyama, Director

509-684-2262

jmatsuyama@netchd.org
 

Pierce County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department

Lindsay Tuttle, Environmental Health Specialist

253-798-3530

ltuttle@tpchd.org

OR

Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department

Ray Hanowell, Environmental Health Specialist

253-798-2845

rhanowell@tpchd.org

 

Tacoma-Pierce County Health Department monitors select lakes for toxic algae and fecal coliform bacteria.  They post surface water advisories online here and will also post signs at public access points.  To report a suspected algae bloom, please call the Health Department at 253-798-6470 or email them at ehsurfacewater/shellfish@tpchd.org.  They also maintain a lake advisories listerv, that allows you to sign up to receive notification of advisories when they are issued and when they are lifted.  Find out more here: www.tpchd.org/swimmingbeaches


San Juan County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

San Juan County Health & Community Services

Environmental Health

Mark Tompkins, Director

360-378-4474

markt@co.san-juan.wa.us

Skagit County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

Skagit County Public Health Department

Corinne Story

360-336-9380

corinnes@co.skagit.wa.us

To report a pollution issue call the Skagit Public Works Department at 360-336-9400.

City of Anacortes

Anacortes Parks & Recreation typically monitors Heart, Whistle, and Little Cranberry lakes for fecal bacteria.  Contact them:

Anacortes Parks & Recreation

Jonn Lunsford

360-293-1918

jonnl@cityofanacortes.org

Skamania County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming, contact:

Skamania County Health Department

Karen Witherspoon

509-427-3900

witherspoon@co.skamania.wa.us

Snohomish County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact

Snohomish County Public Works

Surface Water Management

Gene Williams

425-388-3464 Ext 4563

gene.williams@co.snohomish.wa.us


Spokane County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Spokane Regional Health District

Environmental Health Department

Michael LaScuola, Environmental Health Specialist

509-324-1574

mlascuola@spokanecounty.org

 

 

Newman Lake

 

Spokane County

Jacob McCann

509-477-7262

jmccann@spokanecounty.org

 

Personnel from the Washington State University, under contract with the Newman Lake Flood Control Zone District, conduct annual water quality monitoring at Newman Lake.  They monitor for many parameters including algae but not any fecal bacteria indicators.  The Newman Lake Monitoring website is here.

Liberty Lake

Liberty Lake Sewer & Water District

BiJay Adams

509-922-5333 Ext 30

bijay@libertylake.org

Personnel from the Washington State University, under contract with the Liberty Lake Sewer and Water District, conduct annual water quality monitoring at Liberty Lake.  They monitor for many parameters including algae but not any fecal bacteria indicators.  The Liberty Lake Monitoring website is here.

Stevens County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Northeast Tri-County Health District

Environmental Health Division

Jim Matsuyama, Director

509-684-2262

jmatsuyama@netchd.org

Thurston County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Thurston County Health Department

Sue Davis

360-867-2643

daviss@co.thurston.wa.us

Visit the Swimming in Thurston County website.

Wahkiakum County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Wahkiakum County Health & Human Services

Public Health & Environmental Health Services

Judy Bright, ARNP, MPA, Director

360-795-6207

brightj@co.wahkiakum.wa.us

Walla Walla County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Walla Walla County-City Health Department

Environmental Health Division

Barry Jenkins, Director

509-524-2653

bjenkins@co.walla-walla.wa.us

Whatcom County Contacts

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Whatcom County Health Department

Tom Kunesh

360-676-6724

tkunesh@co.whatcom.wa.us

Currently there is no regular monitoring of lakes or rivers in Whatcom County for fecal bacteria or toxic algae due to lack of funding.

Whitman County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Whitman County Health Department

Environmental Health Division

Michael Baker, Director

509-397-6280

michaelb@co.whitman.wa.us

Yakima County Contact

To find out if a lake or river is safe for swimming or to report an algal bloom, contact:

Yakima Health District

Environmental Health Division

Gordon Kelly, Director

509-249-6507

gordon.kelly@co.yakima.wa.us