The state of Washington, through the Department of Ecology, participates in the nation-wide Coastal Zone Management Program. The CZM program is a voluntary state-federal partnership which encourages states to adopt their own management programs in order to meet the federal goals of protection, restoration, and appropriate development of coastal zone resources. The states have broad latitude to adapt federal goals to state and local circumstances, needs, and legal traditions.

Washington became the first state to achieve a federally-approved state CZM Program in 1976. Washington's CZM program is based primarily upon our Shoreline Management Act of 1971, as well as other state land use and resource management laws.

The national CZM Program is based on the federal Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972, which is implemented by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) through the Office for Coastal Management. The Coastal Services Center is a program within the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration devoted to serving the nation's state and local coastal resource management programs by linking people, information, and technology.

The thirty-four states and territories enrolled in the federal program have banded together to better represent their interests on federal, legislative, administrative, and policy issues relating to sound coastal, Great Lakes, and ocean management through the Coastal States Organization.


Interactive Mapping
of Washington's
Coastal Counties

Training workshops for Shoreline Planners and Coastal Resource Managers

slide signs
Puget Sound Landslides

Shoreline & Coastal Planners Seminars

Celebrating CZM's 40 years!
(Non-Ecology Video)