How To Report a Spill
According to Washington state law, all hazardous material and oil spills must be reported immediately by the spiller. The sooner Ecology knows about an incident, the quicker we can act to try and reduce damages to the environment and protect sensitive natural resources.
What if I spilled oil or hazardous materials?
If you have spilled oil or other hazardous materials to state waters, the ground or the air, you must report it — regardless of the size of the spill. The definition of “oil” includes plant-based oils like vegetable, corn and soybean oils. Even seemingly small spills in the wrong place at the wrong time can cause serious harm.
Businesses covered under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) must report a release of hazardous substances or extremely hazardous substances immediately to the State Emergency Response Commission and submit a written follow-up within 30 days (More information about Emergency Release Notification).
What are state waters?
State waters include pretty much everything: Washington’s marine waters, estuaries, rivers, lakes, streams, creeks, ponds, springs, wetlands, underground (ground) water sources, sewers, storm drains, beaches, ditches, and even snow banks.
What if I don’t report it?
Failure to report a spill you caused will get you a fine and could result in serious financial liabilities. Be safe, don’t hesitate.
What if I see a spill, but I'm not the spiller?
If you see a possibly hazardous spill, voluntarily report it as described on this page, even if you don't know who spilled it.
Whom do I call?
You must the call the following TWO (2) 24-hour numbers:
1) National Response Center: 1-800-424-8802
2) Washington Emergency Management Division:
Ecology regional office: for the county where the spill is located.
To the best of your ability, please be ready with the following information:
Copyright © Washington State Department of Ecology. See http://www.ecy.wa.gov/copyright.html.