UPDATE: Ecology's new website will be live on Monday morning! Our official web address will be https://ecology.wa.gov

Litter

Litter

Secured Load Laws in Other States

There currently is no national legislation for securing loads, but some states have taken the initiative to have their own laws.

State Law Reference Fine
Alabama Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural loads. Code of Alabama (See Chapter 32-5-76) $500
Alaska Applies to all motor vehicles except agricultural, mining, and timber. Alaska Statute (See Chapter 6.06.080) $1000 + litter pickup
Arizona Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural loads. Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1098 $250-1000
Arkansas Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying rock, sand, or gravel. Arkansas Code (See Chapter 27-35-110) None found.
California Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural and food processing products. California Vehicle Code 23114 Starting at $109.
Colorado Applies to all motor vehicles. Colorado Revised Statutes (See Chapter 42-4-1407) $45-700
Connecticut Applies to all motor vehicles except farming vehicles. Connecticut General Statutes (See Chapter 248-14-271) $35-100
Delaware None found.    
District of Columbia Applies to all motor vehicles. District of Columbia Official Code (See Chapter 50-2101) $500
Florida Applies to all motor vehicles except farming vehicles. Florida Statutes 316.520 $500 and/or jail time
Georgia Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural, silvicultural, or forest products. Official Code of Georgia Annotated (See Chapter 40-6-248.1) $1000 and/or 1 year jail time
Hawaii Applies to all motor vehicles except agricultural vehicles, vehicles carrying birds with feathers, and vehicles carrying rocks, sand, or gravel. Hawaii Revised Statutes 291C-131 $250-1000 + jail time
Idaho None found.    
Illinois None found.    
Indiana None found.    
Iowa Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying hay or stover. Iowa Code (See Chapter 321.460) $100
Kansas None found.    
Kentucky Applies to all motor vehicles. Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 189.150 None found.
Louisiana Applies to all motor vehicles. Louisiana Revised Statutes 32:383 $500 and/or 6 months jail time
Maine Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying hay, straw, vines, cornstalks, or grain. Maine Statute 29-A-2396 $150-500
Maryland Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural products. Maryland Code (See Chapter 24-106) None found.
Massachusetts Applies to all motor vehicles. General Laws of Massachusetts Title 84 Chapter 85 Section 36 $50-200
Michigan Applies to all motor vehicles except agricultural andhorticultural vehicles. Michigan Compiled Laws Complete 257.720 $500 and/or 90 days jail time
Minnesota Applies to all motor vehicles except those carrying agricultural products such as grains, shelled corn, soybeans, or other farm produce; or sand, gravel, aggregate, dirt, lime rock, silica, or similar material. Minnesota Statute (See Chapter 169.81 Sub.5) None found.
Mississippi Applies to all motor vehicles. Mississippi Code (See Chapter 63-5-55) $100-500 and/or jail time
Missouri Applies to all motor vehicles. Missouri Revised Statutes 307.010 $50
Montana Applies to motor vehicles carrying solid waste except commercial motor and agricultural vehicles. Montana Code Annotated 61-8-370 None found.
Nebraska Applies to all motor vehicles, trailers, and semi-trailers. Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-6, 304 $100-500
Nevada Applies to all motor vehicles except those containing radioactive waste. Nevada Revised Statutes 484.773 None found.
New Hampshire Applies to motor trucks, trailers, semi-trailers; junk motor vehicles; construction vehicles; and other commercial vehicles. New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 266:72 None found.
New Jersey Applies to all motor vehicles except agricultural vehicles. New Jersey Permanent Statutes (See Chapter 39:4-77)
Link not available
$500
New Mexico Applies to all motor vehicles. New Mexico Statutes (See Chapter 66-7-407) $0-300 and/or jail time
New York None found.    
North Carolina Applies to all motor vehicles. North Carolina General Statutes 20-116 $200
North Dakota None found.    
Ohio Applies to all motor vehicles except agricultural and garbage vehicles. Ohio Revised Code 4513.31 $500 and jail time
Oklahoma Applies to all vehicles. Oklahoma Statutes Citationized 47-14-105 $117
Oregon None found.    
Pennsylvania Applies to all motor vehicles except logging and garbage trucks, and feathers from slaughter vehicles. Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75.4903
Link not available
$100-1000
Rhode Island Applies to all motor vehicles except logging trucks or those carrying wood, lumber, or sawmill wastes. Rhode Island Statutes (See Chapters 31-25-9 and 10) $100-500
South Carolina None found.    
South Dakota None found.    
Tennessee Applies to trucks with open beds for public use except vehicles carrying farm produce to the market. Tennessee Code (See Chapter 55-7-109) None found.
Texas Applies to all motor vehicles. Texas Statutes 725.021 $25-500
Utah Applies to all motor vehicles except vehicles carrying dirt, sand, gravel, rock fragments, pebbles, crushed base, aggregate, any other similar material, or scrap metal. Utah Code (See Chapter 72-7-409) None found.
Vermont Applies to private motor vehicles; trailers; semi-trailers. Vermont Statutes Annotated 23:13:1454 None found.
Virginia Applies to all motor vehicles. Code of Virginia 10.1-1424 $50
Washington Applies to all motor vehicles. Exempt: vehicles carrying gravel, sand, and dirt if 6 inches of freeboard is maintained within the bed. Revised Code of Washington 46.61.655 $216-5000 and/or jail time
West Virginia Applies to all motor vehicles. West Virginia Code (See Chapter 17C-17-6) $500 or 10 days jail time
Wisconsin Applies to all motor vehicles. Wisconsin Statutes (See Chapter 348.10(2)) $10-200
Wyoming Applies to all motor vehicles. Wyoming Statutes (See Chapter 31-5-228) $750 and/or 6 mos. Jail time