MORE INFORMATION

Toxics Cleanup Program Funding Opportunity:

Independent Remedial Action Grants and Loans

These grants provide funding to local governments that investigate and clean up hazardous waste sites independently under the Voluntary Cleanup Program. The 2013 legislation impacts these grants.

Overview

Current Funding Cycle
For the 2013-2015 fiscal biennium, the Legislature appropriated $62,537,000 for the Remedial Action Grants and Loans Program. Of this amount, Ecology allocated $3 million total for Integrated Planning Grants and Independent Remedial Action Grants. Additional funds may become available during the biennium. If you have a project that needs funding, contact the applicable regional section manager identified below.
Applications Accepted Who’s Eligible Eligible Project Activities Match Grant Limit
Within 60 days of receipt of No Further Action (NFA) determination  
Local governments that have completed independent remedial actions at a site
  • Interim actions
  • Remedial investigations
  • Feasibility studies and selection of remedy
  • Engineering design and construction of selected remedy
  • Operation and maintenance or monitoring of constructed remedy for up to one year
  •  Development of independent remedial action plans and reports
10%-50%* $200,000

* Ecology may fund less than 50% of eligible project costs.

Financial Managers

Manager Counties Covered
Lydia Lindwall
Email: Lydia.Lindwall@ecy.wa.gov
Phone: (360) 407-6210
Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Island, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom, Yakima
Dan Koroma
Email:  Dan.Koroma@ecy.wa.gov
Phone:  (360) 407-7187
Adams, Asotin, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, Skamania, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Walla Walla, Wahkiakum, Whitman

Regional Contacts – Section Managers

Region Site Hazard Assessment Coordinator
Headquarters Barry Rogowski
(360) 407-7226
barry.rogowski@ecy.wa.gov
Northwest Regional Office Bob Warren
(425) 649-7054
bob.warren@ecy.wa.gov
Southwest Regional Office Rebecca Lawson
(360) 407-6241
rebecca.lawson@ecy.wa.gov
Central Regional Office Valerie Bound
(509) 454-7886
valerie.bound@ecy.wa.gov
Eastern Regional Office Kathy Falconer
(509) 329-3568
kathy.falconer@ecy.wa.gov