MORE INFORMATION

Toxics Cleanup Program Funding Opportunity:

Oversight Remedial Action Grants and Loans

The grants provide funding to local governments that investigate and clean up hazardous waste sites under the supervision of Ecology or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency under an order or decree.

The loans supplement local government funding and funding from other sources to meet the match requirements for oversight remedial action grants. Loans are considered on a case-by-case basis based on the financial need of the local government and its ability to pay over a period of time.

The 2013 legislation does not impact these grants or loans. However, the legislation does prioritize funding for certain types of large, multi-biennial projects (extended grant agreements).

Overview

Current Funding Cycle
For the 2013-2015 fiscal biennium, the Legislature appropriated $62,537,000 for the Remedial Action Grants and Loans Program. Of this amount, Ecology allocated $56,043,426 for Oversight Remedial Action Grants and Loans. Additional funds may become available during the biennium. If you have a project that needs funding, contact the applicable regional section manager identified below.
Applications Accepted Who’s Eligible Eligible Project Activities Match Grant Limit
Within 60 days of effective date of order or decree 
Local governments required to conduct remedial actions under an order or decree
  • Interim actions
  • Remedial investigations
  • Feasibility studies and selection of remedy
  • Engineering design and construction of selected remedy
  • Operation and maintenance or monitoring of constructed remedy for up to one year
  • Landfill closures, if required as remedial actions
10%-50%* None.

* Ecology may fund less than 50% of eligible project costs.

Financial Managers

Manager Counties Covered
Lydia Lindwall
Email: Lydia.Lindwall@ecy.wa.gov
Phone: (360) 407-6210
Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Island, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom, Yakima
Dan Koroma
Email:  Dan.Koroma@ecy.wa.gov
Phone:  (360) 407-7187
Adams, Asotin, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, Skamania, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Walla Walla, Wahkiakum, Whitman

Regional Contacts – Section Managers

Region Site Hazard Assessment Coordinator
Headquarters Barry Rogowski
(360) 407-7226
barry.rogowski@ecy.wa.gov
Northwest Regional Office Bob Warren
(425) 649-7054
bob.warren@ecy.wa.gov
Southwest Regional Office Rebecca Lawson
(360) 407-6241rebecca.lawson@ecy.wa.gov
Central Regional Office Valerie Bound
(509) 454-7886
valerie.bound@ecy.wa.gov
Eastern Regional Office

Kathy Falconer
(509) 329-3568
kathy.falconer@ecy.wa.gov