Palouse agriculture slice

Nonpoint Pollution from Agriculture

Agriculture and Water Quality Advisory Committee

A broad array of agricultural interests participate on an advisory committee to improve working relationships and ensure both water quality protection and a healthy agricultural industry.

The committee discusses issues and provides advice associated with the work Ecology does to prevent pollution. The purpose is to provide an open forum for producers and stakeholders to meet our staff, hear what we are doing, and provide guidance as we tackle the challenge of ensuring water quality protection and a healthy agricultural community.

The committee has had discussions on a variety of topics including:

Meeting Information

Agendas and presentation materials from upcoming and past meetings are posted on the meeting information webpage.

Committee Members


  • Director Maia Bellon, Ecology
  • Aaron Golladay, Washington Farm Bureau First Vice President
Director Maia Bellon tours Eric Maier’s Palouse farm to see incentive-based programs in action. Photo credit: Wheat Life.

Confirmed committee members (to date)



WA State Tree Fruit Association

Jon DeVaney (primary)
Ranie Hass

Washington State Farm Bureau

John Pearson (primary)
John Pearson

Washington Association of Conservation Districts

George Boggs (primary)
Alan Stromberger

Puget Soundkeeper Alliance

Chris Wilke (primary)
Bruce Wishart
Jerry White

WA State Water Resources Association (Irrigation Districts)

Tom Myrum (primary)
Mike Schwisow

Pacific NW Direct Seed Association

Kay Meyer (primary)
Rick Jones

WA Cattle Feeders Association

Jack Field (primary)
Rob Miller

Cattle Producers of WA

Scott Nielsen (primary)
Ted Wishon

WA Assoc of Wheat Growers

Nicole Berg (primary)
Eric Maier
Larry Cochran

WA State Dairy Federation

Tony Veiga (primary)
Jay Gordon

WA Cattlemen’s Association

Toni Meacham (primary)
Randy Good
Sarah Ryan

Washington State Potato Commission

Darrin Morrison (primary)
Chris Voigt
Matt Harris

Pacific Coast Shellfish Growers Association

Bill Dewey (primary)
Steve Bloomfield

Washington Association of Wine Grape Growers

Jason Schlagel (primary)
Mike Means
Mike Schwisow

Washington State Hay Growers Association

Loren Lentz (primary)
Mark Herbis


Contact us for more information

Back to top of page

Last updated September 2017