Whatcom County snippet

Whatcom header

 

Contacts

Who to contact if you have a question about:

 

General inquiries

We welcome your comments, questions, concerns or ideas about the program.

Andrea Hood, program coordinator
Washington Department of Health
360-715-5234
andrea.hood@doh.wa.gov

Media inquiries

Ty Keltner, communications manager
Washington Department of Ecology
360-715-5205
Ty.Keltner@ecy.wa.gov

Water quality regulations and enforcement

Contact the following people for more information about how Ecology is working with landowners and residents to identify and correct preventable sources of bacteria pollution. Ecology enforces the Washington state Water Pollution Control Law (RCW 90.48) and the federal Clean Water Act.

Doug Allen, manager
Washington Department of Ecology - Bellingham Field Office
360-715-5203
doug.allen@ecy.wa.gov

Jessica Kirkpatrick, inspector
Washington Department of Ecology - Bellingham Field Office
360-715-5217
Jessica.kirkpatrick@ecy.wa.gov

Catherine Gockel
Environmental Protection Agency Region 10
206-553-0325
gockel.catherine@epa.gov

Back to top

Water sampling and analysis

The Washington Department of Ecology, Whatcom County Public Works, Lummi Nation and Nooksack Indian Tribe can provide more information about water sampling and analysis. Whatcom County Public Works also provides administrative and technical support to shellfish protection district advisory committees.

Steve Hood, engineer
Washington Department of Ecology
360-715-5211
steve.hood@ecy.wa.gov
Bellingham, WA

Erika Douglas, senior planner
Whatcom County Public Works
360-778-6294
edouglas@co.whatcom.wa.us

Meg Harris, data coordinator
Whatcom Conservation District
360-526-2381 ext 107
mharris@whatcomcd.org

Kara Kuhlman, deputy water resources manager
Lummi Nation
360-312-2128
karak@lummi-nsn.gov

Oliver Grah, water resources manager
Nooksack Indian Tribe
360-592-5176 ext 3291
ograh@nooksack-nsn.gov

Back to top

Land use regulations and permits

The Whatcom County Planning and Development Services department can provide more information about farm plan applications submitted for compliance with the Conservation Program on Agriculture Lands (WCC 16.16.290).

Ryan Ericson, natural resources supervisor
Whatcom County Planning & Development Services
360-778-5937
rericson@co.whatcom.wa.us

Back to top

Farm management – technical assistance and cost-sharing

The Whatcom Conservation District and USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service can provide more information about technical assistance and cost-share programs available to farm operators.

Corina Cheever, resource specialist
Whatcom Conservation District
360-526-2381 ext. 104
ccheever@whatcomcd.org

Alex Hall, resource conservationist
Natural Resources Conservation Service
(360) 354-2035 ext. 3102
alexander.hall@wa.usda.gov

Back to top

On-site sewage (septic) systems

The Whatcom County Health Department provides regulatory oversight for on-site sewage systems (OSS) in Whatcom County. In addition to permitting and code enforcement, the OSS Program provides information about proper OSS operation and maintenance and opportunities for financial assistance for repairs.

Mike Kim, environmental health supervisor
Whatcom County Health Department
360-778-6000
mkim@co.whatcom.wa.us

Back to top

Dairy nutrient management program

The Washington Department of Agriculture provides regulatory oversight for licensed dairies related to water quality.

Michael Isensee, field inspector
Washington Department of Agriculture
360-354-7421
misensee@agr.wa.gov

 

Back to top of page

Last updated July 2017